Strange Flowers

14 Apr

I enjoy the irony of one of the minority of online journals that I read that isn’t about gardening being called Strange Flowers. The author has recently posted a quote of Wilde’s that I myself posted on my other/old blog a couple of months ago. “There is an unknown land full of strange flowers and subtle perfumes, a land of which it is joy of all joys to dream, a land where all things are perfect and poisonous.” I’d like that written up in the garden somewhere.

Why “perfect AND poisonous”? Well, to answer that is complicated. Nonetheless, I am going to try, repeatedly, because it is so important for why I garden. Gardening has in tow a very long baggage train of wholesome associations. Everything is rosy in a good garden. IMPOSSIBLE! I can’t create my ideal space. This is partly for practical reasons but also because I am at heart a very contrary person, because happiness is not voluntary, because I am cynical and easily bored, etc etc. A garden’s flaws cannot be finally and definitively fixed – and no I do not refer you to floppy clichés of beauty being subjective or gardening being no more than inconsequential weekend pottering: they are not true – such flaws as exist are not down to a lack of effort, skill or resources. Bad gardens exist because utopia does not exist; bad gardens are a good argument for utopia. In other words, and speaking more practically, a good garden is one that expresses fantasy but lies in reality. Or, returning to Wilde,

“We are all in the gutter, but some of us are looking in the stars.”

Leave a Reply

