New plants

11 Sep

Now would be a good time to plant deciduous shrubs and trees, but instead of following up on long-term crushes like luma apiculata or magnolia macrophylla, which i’d have to order in, and which process would give me enough time to be sensible and save my money, I took Chthonian the Younger out to the local garden centre, to splurge my money at random instead.

They have succulents! A couple of years ago the local garden centre burnt down. They will be re-opening in their new building next month (they’ve been operating out of an enormous marquee in the meantime) which will give them somewhere to shelter these succulents of mixed hardiness, the following examples of which are now in my possession MWHA HA HA HA

Kalanchoe thyrsiflora, which I would love to see in bloom

Aloe ‘Black Gem’ which is about as black as I am, but as it’s an aloe I bought it automatically, didn’t I

Echeveria ‘Perle von Nurnberg’

Echeveria ‘Topsy-Turvy’

Last week yielded a couple of plants too. There’s a nursery over by nearby Manchester Airport, name of Primrose Cottage Nursery. Trite, mumsy name for an excellent place. They do have an eye for things that aren’t (self-grown) hardy perennials or the usual bedding subjects.

Hedychium densiflorum ‘Stephen’

Senecio crassissimus (try saying that in a hurry)

Speaking of gingers, hedychium forrestii has flowered for me –

Finally, one of the Melianthus major looked to have developed a strangely upright habit – the other one has a more draping habit – so I looked and to my surprise, it is blooming AGAIN! That’s twice this year.

Leave a Reply

