Gimme Shelter

18 Dec

The long-rumoured rain shelter is finally here!
002004003
I opted not to go for anything fancy. I would’ve ended up with something expensive and very silly. Instead, my Dad said he had a plan, some 1″ diameter metal conduit lying around and fancied brushing up his brazing skills. All I had to pay for was some corrugated PVC roofing sheets and a some timber, which cost about £45. I think it has modest architectural merit and as my dad said, “it’s over-engineered”.

What to plant? The euphorbia and helictotrichon are already too big for the space, and besides, they don’t need a roof over them. I have a few opuntia for starters.

Here’s to you, Dad.008

4 Responses to “Gimme Shelter”

  1. Peter/Outlaw December 18, 2012 at 11:19 pm #

    Great new rain shelter and wonderful dad! I hope you fully enjoy them both!

    • thechthonianlife December 19, 2012 at 7:17 am #

      The brick raised beds are all his own work too – he certainly is a wonderful Dad.

  2. Loree / Danger garden December 19, 2012 at 5:50 am #

    I think it looks marvelous, and what a dad!

    • thechthonianlife December 19, 2012 at 7:20 am #

      My favourite part is the way the pipes arch outwards slightly. More elegant than what I was thinking of.

      I’m 33 and still getting exciting new toys for Christmas, who could wish for a more thoughtful Dad?

Leave a Reply

