The Makeover Continues

22 Mar

Yesterday I posted about the smaller raised bed, which is to be planted up with cold-hardy cacti and succulents and left to fill out, or so I hope. Its larger sister is also intended for plants that demand decent drainage, but I plan on making changes here every year.

This year i’ve topped it up with gravel and planted out the hardier subjects I have on my hands at the moment. The theme is something I mentioned a few weeks ago – GREEN AVOIDANCE. I’m experimenting with ridding this area of plain old green, to get a sun-baked look that I hope will be really striking in my part of the world. I’ve taken photos from a few different angles. I’m pleased with the look so far, except maybe for the position the eucalyptus is in. See what you think.20130319_16364220130319_16372020130319_16344620130319_16380720130319_163742
The centrepiece is a Pinus montezumae. Other plants i’ve used are Phormium ‘Black Adder’, Astelia chathamica, Fascicularia bicolor canaliculata, Yucca recurvifolia, Helictotrichon sempervirens, Euphorbia rigida and E. characias subsp. wulfenii, Beschorneria yuccoides, Kniphofia northiae, Eucalyptus perriniana. There are some crown imperials sneaking in there too, though I can’t vouch for them. Cats used are Arthurius.

5 Responses to “The Makeover Continues”

  1. Mark and Gaz March 22, 2013 at 8:52 am #

    I like the idea of the blue border, we have something similar in one of our new raised beds and blue tones plants certainly convey warmth especially when the sun hits them.

    That Pinus montezumae looks so attractive as a centrepiece!

    • thechthonianlife March 22, 2013 at 12:22 pm #

      Hope your Montezuma pine is doing well. I was on tenterhooks about the health of mine, especially since I found out that Lime Cross aren’t shipping anymore. I’d have trouble finding a replacement.

      Yep you certainly got there first with the blue theme. I have to say, I admire the visual effect yours has.

  2. Becca March 22, 2013 at 2:31 pm #

    Looks great! Are the crown imperials the little guys in front of the Eucalyptus? I also like the Arthurius. In LA those have to stay in the house, unfortunately.

    • thechthonianlife March 23, 2013 at 8:03 am #

      Thanks. Yes, those are they. I’m finding it difficult to get them to flower again after the first time, four years back. Poor cats. Is it a pest and disease thing, or do they just not grow in zone 10?

      • Becca March 28, 2013 at 4:37 am #

        I love the name ‘crown imperials’–they sound like a kind of booze from the 1950s, or maybe a 1950s car. They’re also beautiful. I don’t think we have those around here. Zone 10 has arthuriuses (arthurii?) but they have to be indoors due to cars. I’m going plant shopping soon! Yay!

Leave a Reply

