Promising . . .

10 Apr

Alex (my eldest) and I will be visiting my Mum over the coming weekend. She’s tipped me off about a place way up in Cumbria that promises to have a good selection of shrubs and trees – Larch Cottage Nurseries. “Where will you plant them?” she asked. To which I could only reply “There’s plenty of room left. There must be. I can still see the wall at the back of the garden.”

The website indicates that they have this.

Very Exciting.

Not to mention Toona sinensis ‘Flamingo’, weird conifer Sciadopitys verticillata, Kalopanax, and Luma apiculata. This last one I have to see in person, as I think it might disappoint, like Quercus myrsinifolia did. Too neat a habit. One time, when I was researching evergreen oaks, I noted a website saying “often rarity and dullness go hand in hand.” Hm, I can see what they were getting at. But rarity is necessary to create surprise, let alone disbelief, which are essential attributes for the garden I am creating. It isn’t easy, finding suitable plants.

The other place i’m planning on visiting is Inglefield Plants in Staveley, the place that gifted me a tetrapanax, melianthus, aloe and spikemoss last May.

See you after the weekend, with the shopping results. I hope Alex doesn’t find it too boring

6 Responses to “Promising . . .”

  1. Loree / Danger garden April 11, 2013 at 5:45 am #

    Very exciting indeed! Can’t wait to see your new Magnolia!!!

    • thechthonianlife April 11, 2013 at 8:56 am #

      It’s been a few years since I first saw one. It was at Heligan. I’ll be glad to have one all of my own.

  2. Peter April 11, 2013 at 6:13 am #

    Magnolia macrophylla is one of my favorite trees and is sadly under used! Some great plants to consider indeed! I almost got Toona sinensis ‘Flamingo’ because it’s truly stunning in the spring but when the pink fades, it’s just another tree and my space is so small and full already. If I had more space for trees, I would certainly include it. Sciadopitys verticillata is fabulous in my opinion! I’m looking forward to hearing about the nursery visits and your purchases!

    • thechthonianlife April 11, 2013 at 9:03 am #

      About the Toona, there are a lot of cool-looking pinnate leaved trees out there. I looked at Rhus (beautiful, but too common), the ghetto palm (not spectacular enough). I have a few gleditsia growing from seed just because it was easy to do, and a couple of caesalpinia gilliesii from seed too, but they’re obviously not hardy enough to plant out permanently. So i’m going to give Toona a go. And that’s all about my obsession with all things pinnate.

  3. Becca April 13, 2013 at 12:50 am #

    If you love pinnate leafed trees, you might love jacarandas. They’re hardy to about 25 degrees (F)…http://www.cs.up.ac.za/cs/jbishop/Homepage/Photos/Jacarandas/Jacarandas-15.jpg
    They’re one of my favorites!

    • thechthonianlife April 13, 2013 at 3:57 pm #

      Thanks Becca. That is a beautiful image. Average minimum winter temperature here is 18F, this year we got away with 23F. Still, you know i’m not put off by hardiness being a bit touch and go. Besides, superb foliage.

Leave a Reply

