New Oddities

13 Apr

The weekend’s plant hunting was successful. I picked up four of the five things i’d hoped to find, plus a couple of other bits. The middle of April ought to be a good time to do plant shopping, mainly because most things are just starting into growth, but no. The long Winter meant that most trees are still bare sticks and most perennials haven’t emerged from winter dormancy at all. So, you’ll understand that the photographs of my new acquisitions don’t show a great deal. Still, it is better for a blog to show rather than tell, when possible, so I include the images anyway.

Larch Cottage Nurseries then. This is a great place – a broad range of stock and good service. A good deal of their stock was still kept behind the scenes, but they offered to search out what I wanted. The only thing that wasn’t ready for sale was Magnolia macrophylla, so the wait carries on a little longer. Happily, they had vicious looking Kalopanax septemlobus. Time will tell as to which form i’ve got, the foliage is quite variable. Hopefully this will have deeply lobed palmate foliage. The thing to remember is, i’ve not seen this anywhere else, either in garden or at a nursery, and I still wouldn’t if I hadn’t recruited my family to drive all the way to Penrith. What i’m saying is, i’m pleased with it.100_4210Also in the bag is Aruncus dioicus, which is like an astilbe on steroids. Or so I understand. Again, I haven’t knowingly seen one.
Other buys are Sciadopitys verticillata with it’s wiry, long needles100_4209
Toona sinensis ‘Flamingo’ is a couple of sticks at the minute but in a few weeks we should have a flush of, yes you guessed right, bright pink new foliage, turning white, then finally green. The image I have in my mind is of a Pieris, only bigger and bolder.100_4208.
Luma apiculata at least has leaves to show, being evergreen, but this is nonetheless my one effort at real delayed gratification. The leaves are dull. It’s the bark i’m after, which looks spectacular. Also, its hardiness is doubtful. I like to see what I can get away with.100_4207

Finally, we dropped by Inglefield Plants at Staveley. I’ve been here before and again I was sorely tempted to buy an Asparagus densiflorum and again I forgot my camera. Last autumn I killed my Paulownia tomentosa by overpotting them, so I picked up a decent sized plant here. Again, barely any signs of life. 100_4206

The things I didn’t buy are possibly more interesting at this point in time. I’ve taken photos and will post them tomorrow. But all these buys are long-considered and so i’m delighted to have examples for my own garden at last. These pictures were taken at my Mum’s house. Pictures of the garden there to follow this week too: there are some fantastic phormiums to see. Thanks to her and everyone else who made this possible, it was a bit of a mission and needed more help than i’d bargained for. You know who you are!

5 Responses to “New Oddities”

  1. Mark and Gaz April 13, 2013 at 9:53 pm #

    Looks like a very successful plant hunting trip indeed, so many gorgeous plants there! Whatever leaf form the Kalopanax will turn out to be I’m sure it will look great šŸ™‚

    • thechthonianlife April 14, 2013 at 9:02 pm #

      Time will tell. Give it a couple of months and they’ll all be well away!

  2. Loree / danger garden April 14, 2013 at 8:15 pm #

    I have seen a Kalopanax septemlobus all leafed out and it’s amazing! (surely regardless of the form you ended up with). I wish I had room for one in my garden. All your other purchases look great to, what a trip!

    • thechthonianlife April 14, 2013 at 9:00 pm #

      Whoops, I forgot how big they get! It’s no bad thing. I’ll enjoy watching it grow and grow.

  3. Peter April 16, 2013 at 3:42 pm #

    Great plant hunting expedition! There’s nothing quite as wonderful as the feeling one gets when he finds the treasure for which he’s been searching! Congratulations on your new additions, they’re som of my favorites!

Leave a Reply

