Bargains

11 Feb

It looks like I will be moving back here in the next six weeks. So i’ve been trawling local nurseries, looking for anything of interest. At one, Primrose Cottage Nursery, which is notable for growing most of their own perennials, my eye was caught by some slightly peculiar looking spoon-shaped leaves off in the distance. Ever on the look out for anything I can’t quite place, I head over. Pittosporum tobira, the label says. Not hardy. Hmm, that usually means I can get away with growing them anyway. Most pittosporum I have seen have tiny leaves and look fairly unassuming. Not these. These are specimen size, they have presence. I look up to discover I have wandered into the sale section. Turn the label over . . . was £60, now £8.99. They had to be mine, along with a Callistemon for £4.99.

image

Look at the size of them! And planted, they cover up a bit more of the dreaded brick wall at the back.

image

A bit yellow, but that’s most likely to be down to having been in a pot for too long. I had to saw the pots off to get them out, and I added well-rotted manure and blood, fish and bone pellets to the soil.
Other recent purchases are another Phormium ‘Black Adder’ (that’s three now)

image

And a Kniphofia caulescens to go with the K. northiae I bought last year

image

Meanwhile I am plotting three new planting areas, with paths, to replace the sad remnants of the lawn. Busy busy.

2 Responses to “Bargains”

  1. Peter/Outlaw February 11, 2014 at 4:48 pm #

    Bargains at the nursery are always exciting! I’m glad that you’ll be living in your garden again (and house.)

    • thechthonianlife February 11, 2014 at 4:57 pm #

      I struck lucky there. They should recover from being cooped up, given time.

Leave a Reply

