Lust: A Conceptual Garden

26 Feb

One other thing to catch my eye in last weekend’s plant fair was this proposal for a garden to be put together at Hampton Court this year-

image

image

image

image

image

This is something i’d given some thought, though I was going more along the lines of using sex to put across the concept of gender and gardens both being artificial constructions than just making a “sex show”. (Although, I have to say, I do love this “Lust” garden idea. It is sure to cause dismissive grumbles, and sparks my imagination as regards how to use a garden to put ideas across, plus having researched the plant list a bit, I now know that the flowers of the callery pear tree smell of semen. Who’d have thought it?) I imagined creamy brugmansia flowers drooping over a bed of hot coloured aroid flowers, maybe dranunculus or an amorphophallus species. Maybe one of these days.

3 Responses to “Lust: A Conceptual Garden”

  1. Becca March 4, 2014 at 4:13 am #

    I like the concept, but I know for me after a year or two I’d find myself making excuses to plant whatever I wanted to plant: this sweet alyssum looks just like the lace on a victorian nightie, etc. Really, couldn’t just about anything be justified?

    • thechthonianlife March 4, 2014 at 9:05 pm #

      Yes, my list of wanted plants mostly consists of stuff I have no obvious place for. I indulge it too. The other day I found a tree that would be the perfect centrepiece to one of the beds I am building IF I STICK TO PLAN. Yet there are many less sensible choices I could go for instead, and may well. As for the lust garden, you are right of course, it’s the contrast to ordinary gardens that hooked me.

      Speaking of which, I will get round to photographing my street’s gardens soon.

      • Becca March 5, 2014 at 3:32 am #

        I wondered if you’d forgotten–I’m looking forward to seeing them!

Leave a Reply

