Developments

2 Apr

The work is far from finished, but I have at least dug most of the planned beds now and planted some of the less fussy half-hardy items I have. It’s very satisfying to see it taking shape.

image

image

The puyas are still in their tubs while I make my mind up what to do with that long thin bed there.

The echeveria are flowering, there’s this extravagant fellow, E. ‘Perle von Nurnburg’-

image

Gorgeous, sinuous form. Also, I picked up another, unidentified succulent for £1 last year. I wasn’t completely sure that it was an echeveria, but obviously it is, now I have seen the flower. Glaucous and scarlet make such a strong colour clash, I love it-

image

Progress is being made, definitely progress.

3 Responses to “Developments”

  1. Becca April 2, 2014 at 3:34 pm #

    Looking great! The bed with the tuteur in the middle has a nice symmetry. ‘Perle’ is a gorgeous echevaria! I may have to draw a picture of that bloom stalk…it’s really beautiful!

    • thechthonianlife April 3, 2014 at 9:29 am #

      Thank you, a bit of symmetry wouldn’t go amiss in my garden. The collector in me always wins out over the designer. Tuteur, that’s a better word for it than “support” or “pyramid”, which is what i’ve been referring to it as so far.

    • thechthonianlife April 3, 2014 at 9:31 am #

      And Perle, it has a look about it of an art nouveau whiplash.

Leave a Reply

