The Garden at the End of April

29 Apr

Spring is definitely here. The weather is mild and has been for a couple of weeks. It is tempting to plant out all the tender things, though it is folly really, I know.

Also, I have a lot of work to be getting on with in the meantime, weeding, settling the timber edges to the new raised beds, digging turf, digging generally.

So instead of showing you the jobs that I have half done, here is what the garden has done for itself so far this year. My phone camera has lost a lot of its sharpness for some reason. Apologies for the poor focus images.

The view from the street, with massive echium pininana and runaway aralia elata

image

Things are leafing out. The cardiocrinum giganteum need some serious protection against lily beetles and slugs.

image

image

New purchase of fatsia japonica ‘spider’s web’

image

In the greenhouse, there are plenty of brugmansia blooms

image

Really looking forward to this arisaema tortuosum I bought at the Spring plant fair in London, it looks so alien already. I love me a showy aroid

image

Canna ‘ehemanii’ leafing out nicely

image

I raised a batch of agave from seed. Many have suffered from a fungal infection, I will wait and see what the damage is in a couple of weeks. I did have seventy of them. It’s probably a good deal less now.

image

Indoors, Gloriosa superba is growing like the clappers. And so it should, with a name like that.

image

In the back garden, various trees and shrubs I bought last Spring are coming on well. Kalopanax septemlobus

image

Toona sinensis ‘Flamingo’

image

Paulownia tomentosa

image

The Clianthus puniceus ‘Alba’ I took in to the greenhouse for insurance has nearly finished flowering now, but the one I left outdoors has not only survived, it’s in full bloom (peculiarly yellow tinge in photo – damn phone)

image

Two more echium pininana starting to flower in the back garden. These are not so large as the one in the front, but i’m still impressed. One is blue, one white.

image

image

The gunnera seems to have enjoyed all the winter wet

image

Hosta ‘Halcyon’ and fern croziers, wonderful

image

Sections of the garden are filling out nicely now

image

image

I’ll post on the new beds once they are done. I’m breaking the habit of a lifetime and keeping it to myself until it is spotless.

2 Responses to “The Garden at the End of April”

  1. Becca May 1, 2014 at 4:56 am #

    Wow! My garden is green year-round, but it doesn’t have spring like that. I kind of envy the enforced break of winter followed by the luxuriance of spring…

    • thechthonianlife May 1, 2014 at 12:41 pm #

      It feels good to get to this time of year. Another four weeks and I will be able to plant out all the tender things without risk of frost. Most years, this one included (so far), there’s no frost after March, but a couple of years ago there was a slight one right at the end of May which damaged a few plants.

Leave a Reply

