New Plants

23 Aug

Wow, I only stopped by one of my local nurseries for a quick look and I came away with nine plants for under £60! It’s like it’s my birthday all over again. Here’s the haul:

image

Myrtus communis, Angelica archangelica, Verbascum bombyciferum, mystery plant I assume is a Kniphofia; Gingko biloba, a Callistemon of some sort, Acacia paradoxa, Hydrangea aspera ‘Macrophylla’ and a huge mystery plant which I assumed was an agave, looks like it’s A. filifera, although it has bonus octopus arms instead of straight ones. Maybe it’s filifera cross-bred with A. vilmoriniana or A. bracteosa. Anyone have any thoughts? The seller said she grew it from a batch of mixed seed. Damn, it’s my lucky day. I don’t know how I missed it before . . .

image

image

image

I’ve spent the afternoon ripping out a load of ferns and Siberian iris to make room for some of these. I was over indulgent with the iris because I grew them from seed saved from an old plant, but time is up for them now, as the inmates were starting the take over the asylum. New gaps-

image

image

image

And the victims, for posterity-

image

3 Responses to “New Plants”

  1. Loree August 24, 2014 at 6:40 am #

    I don’t have any guesses on what the mystery agave is, but just had to say how fabulous it is! You scored. I’ve not seen anything like it.

    • thechthonianlife August 24, 2014 at 8:40 am #

      Thanks, i’m startled. The nursery owner persists in growing cool (read: unpopular) stuff, it seems I just roll up and get given it at cut price, she has even swapped plants with me before now. Obviously I love the place, long may it last!

    • thechthonianlife August 24, 2014 at 9:34 am #

      I’d pass on an offset if it had any, but it doesn’t seem to have produced any, just a short trunk.

Leave a Reply

