An End

5 Jul

The previous post will have to serve as an epitaph to the previous garden. My brother and sister-in-law have long lost patience with their pledge not to touch it before I had the chance to move the plants, but yesterday things took a final turn for the worse when my brother called me at work to tell me that he’d hired a skip and that he would like me to come round and choose what I want to keep before he bins the rest. Yes, dear reader, I was invited to join him for a beer while I played Sophie’s Choice with the garden. So I told him what I thought of him and informed him that he could do what he wanted with the plants, seeing as they are obviously worthless. 

This has been going on for months. There were leaves hacked off the Tetrapanax. Then I cleared the front garden . . . so they could park a car on it. Months later, the only thing that has been parked on it is an empty crate. Then the planter next to the front door, which contained a hosta my kids had bought me when my cat Arthur died, was instead . . . full of pansies. Then I cleared the area next to the conservatory was cleared, except for some echium pininana in their second year. They took an executive decision to kill them for the benefit of . . . a patio. Last time I went round, one of the Hedychium forrestii had been cut off and substituted with . . . a disused garden chair. Yesterday, the large brick raised bed was being held hostage for the advantage of . . . some grass. 

Basically, the one thing in my life that was safe from the depredations of the outside world has been destroyed by the ignorance and sheer indifference of mob-handed cretins with execrable taste. I just shortened the list of plants by maybe twenty-five species, most of them trees and shrubs, the backbone of the garden. It’s heartbreaking.

“I see only the overwhelming indifference of nature. I believe the common denominator of the universe is not harmony, but chaos, hostility and murder.” Werner Herzog 

4 Responses to “An End”

  1. Trillium July 5, 2016 at 3:14 pm #

    I feel your pain, bro. I have sold several homes with good gardens that were just really developing and returned later to find them completely dead because the new owners couldn’t be bothered to water at all. Now I make a point of taking what I can once, then never returning even to look.

  2. danger garden July 6, 2016 at 5:59 am #

    I am so sorry, how needlessly painful.

    • thechthonianlife July 6, 2016 at 8:00 am #

      Thank you Loree. Onwards with preparing the ground at the new place.

Leave a Reply

