New Additions

10 Dec

A fortnight ago I said i’d post about the new plants i’d bought in. This delivery came from Junker’s in Somerset. The owner and her son were extraordinarily helpful and have supplied me with three great looking plants. From their selection of seed-grown agaves, there’s this luminous Agave ovatifolia, which they dubbed “Silver Moon”. 

It’ll go on the berm i’ve built up in the sunniest part of the garden. Their agaves have been raised in the manner of the covered bed in the old garden, with rain shelter over them and plenty of ventilation but no frost protection. My plan is to keep a removable dome over the whole berm during winter. 

Speakung of agaves, i’m putting a stop to ferrying tender ones in and out of shelter each year by planting them in the greenhouse along with others of similar hardiness, for instance the puyas.  

The  next plant is a six foot tall Cunninghamia lanceolata “Glauca”. You can see both the berm and the Cunninghamia in this photo, either side of the old greenhouse, which i’m in the process of fixing up.

Finally, there’s a Magnolia laevifolia, which resisted my attempts to take a good picture of the whole. The buds are, I assume, next year’s flowers.

2 Responses to “New Additions”

  1. danger garden December 11, 2016 at 6:52 am #

    Excellent additions! I wish I had space for that Cunninghamia, I adore it.

    • thechthonianlife December 11, 2016 at 9:14 am #

      I don’t know about you, but I often buy “blind”, ie my first sight of a plant is when it is delivered to me. The Cunninghamia I saw featured in an RHS magazine last year and I was glad not to be disappointed when it arrived.

Leave a Reply

